Maintain asthetics, ensure security

Well-chosen handles control access, appearance in all-glass entrance doors
By Charlene Kull
October 1, 2007
COMMERCIAL : HARDWARE

 

High-rise office buildings, movie theatres and shopping malls see a lot of human traffic. Multiple exits must be available for quick egress, upon demand, in the case of a fire or other urgent emergency.
CRL's Electronic Egress Control Handles for tempered glass doors features an electronic switch concealed within a slender tube that stretches across the door and gently turning to a vertical position.
Architects and designers create attractive all-glass entrances for these venues. While they strive to maintain the beauty, security and safety must always be paramount. With security hardware such as panic, deadbolt and electronic egress handles, it is possible to retain aesthetics without sacrificing security.

C.R. Laurence Co. of Los Angeles provides numerous solutions for a wide variety of all-glass entrance door designs. The company’s entry hardware meets fire and safety building codes and offers attractive entrance and egress options for any building project, merging maximum visibility and contemporary styling with function and durability.

CRL manufactures Glass Door Panic and Deadbolt Handles for both single and double 1⁄2-inch or 1⁄4-inch tempered glass doors. Designed to allow maximum view and present a contemporary look, they provide an economical means to satisfy both security and life safety requirements. 

These handles are available in architectural finishes, such as polished or brushed stainless steel, satin and polished brass, oil rubbed bronze, as well as custom architectural finishes. All handles are BHMA/ANSI Grade 1 (stainless steel) or UL305 listed (brass). They are ready to install on doors 36 inches to 48 inches wide and 90 inches to 102 inches high. They can be used as a replacement for older panic handles as well.
CRL manufactures a complete line of Deadbolt Handles designed to complement CRL Panic Handles
As accessories to these products, CRL provides optional door stops and strikes, electric strikes and keyed access devices. A selection of more than 20 matching exterior fixed pull handles also is available. As an extra safety feature, the word “push” can be etched in the handle, and “push/pull” discs in matching finishes are provided with every handle.

Standard Deadbolt Handles incorporate keyed locks on the interior and exterior side of the handles, or they can be replaced with optional thumbturn locks. 

Glass Door Bottom Rod Panic Device Handles are available in a variety of finishes. Custom handles, headers and threshold strike plates also are available.

Where security sensitive areas are involved and strict access must be maintained, CRL’s Electronic Egress Control Handles can be used on single or double 1⁄2-inch or 3⁄4-inch tempered glass doors. They provide a reliable and economical method to control access into and safe exit from areas that require security while still maintaining the aesthetic qualities of all-glass doors.

When the handle is pushed, an electronic switch releases the magnetic lock at the top of the door, enabling quick egress. An optional keyed outside entry lock provides complete security. These handles also can be wired so that access pads or remote switches will allow the lock to disengage and the door to be opened. 

The Electronic Egress Control Handles are available in stock size units that will fit single or double doors 36 to 48 inches wide and 90 to 102 inches high without any modifications. The stock handles are manufactured so that the horizontal bar will be centered at 42 inches from the bottom of a 96-inch door. When using the stock handles on shorter or taller doors, the horizontal location will change accordingly, no higher than 48 inches or lower than 36 inches from the floor, according to code requirements. Custom sizes also can be manufactured and shipped within two weeks. They are available in polished or brushed stainless steel, satin or polished brass, and oil rubbed bronze as well as custom finishes, including painted surfaces.
The images demonstrate some of the numerous exterior and interior handle combinations that can be created on all-glass doors with panic, deadbolt or electronic egress handles. 

Instructional videotapes and videodiscs can make installations even easier. Crlaurence.com provides product and instructional videos online. Technical sales specialists also can help select the correct handles for each particular application.

 

Resources
Access Hardware Supply www.accesshardware.com  
American Eagle Lock Co. www.americaneaglelockco.com  
Blaine Window Hardware Inc. www.blainewindow.com  
Boyle & Chase Inc. www.boyleandchase.com  
C.R. Laurence Co. Inc. www.crlaurence.com  
Camden Door Controls www.camdencontrols.com  
Canaropa www.canaropa.com  
CHMI www.chmi.com  
Closer Repair & Door Hardware 510/536-9177 
Corbin Russwin Architectural Hardware www.corbin-russwin.com  
Door Components Inc. www.doorcomponents.com  
Door Controls International www.doorcontrols.com  
DORMA Glas www.dorma-usa.com  
Dor-O-Matic Exit Devices www.doromatic.com 
Electronic Locking Specialties Inc. www.els-usa.com  
Express Hardware www.express-hardware.com  
Fried Brothers Inc. www.fbisecurity.com  
Grand View Glass & Metal www.grandviewglass.com  
Independence2 LLC www.independence2.com 
Ingersoll Rand Security Technologies www.schlage.com  
International Door Closers Inc.-East www.intldoorclosers.com  
Jackson Corp. www.jacksonexit.com  
Jo-Van Distributors Inc. www.jovanlock.com  
Kaba Access Control www.kaba-ilco.com  
KM Thomas Co. Ltd. www.kmthomas.com 
Master Manufacturers Inc. 303/534-7313 
Mayflower Sales www.mfsales.com  
McAloney Enterprises www.mcaloney.com  
McGregor Hardware Dist. Ltd. www.mcgregor-hardware.com  
Midwest Wholesale Hardware www.midwestwholesale.com  
Monarch Hardware www.monarchhardware.com  
New England Door Closer Inc. www.nedoorcloser.com  
Omaha Wholesale Hardware www.omahawh.com  
Positive Lock Inc. www.positivelock.com  
Quality Hardware Corp. 248/399-8822 
Regent Hardware Corp. 954/851-9994 
Rutherford Controls Int’l Corp. www.rutherfordcontrols.com  
S & L Door Control Services Inc. www.sldoor.com  
S. Parker Hardware www.sparker.com  
Security Door Controls www.sdcsecurity.com  
Security Lock Distributors www.seclock.com  
Security Solutions www.securitysolutions-usa.com  
Sentinel Door Controls LLC www.sentineldoor.com  
Sentinel Wholesale Hardware www.sdi-inc-usa.com  
Silver Sales Inc. www.silversalesusa.com  
Southern Lock & Supply www.southernlock.com  
Specialized Builders Hardware Inc. 714/630-4751 
Von Duprin www.vonduprin.com 
Yale Commercial Locks & Hardware www.yalelocks.com  
Yates & Felts Inc. www.yatesandfelts.com  
YSG Door Security Consultants www.ysgsecurity.com 

 

The author is corporate communications director, C.R. Laurence Co., Los Angeles, 810/225-4640, charlene_kull@crlaurence.com.