Most Innovative Storefront/Entrance Project

Dolce & Gabbana Storefront Signage, The Shops at Crystals, Aria Las Vegas

Giroux Glass Inc., www.girouxglass.com

Giroux Glass Inc. partnered with Dickinson Cameron Construction, www.dickinsoncameron.com, and Creative Design Architecture, www. cdarch.com, to help design and build the Dolce & Gabbana storefront signage, now dubbed the “Black Gem of the Las Vegas Strip.” The glass façade was specially designed to complement the depth and structure of the striking design of the City Center/ Crystals retail district that was created by Studio Daniel Libeskind, daniel-libeskind.com. Construction of the storefront signage required glass panels jetting out at various different angles, creating a unique, fun, and high-fashion geometrical shape that was an exciting challenge to produce, according to Giroux officials.

The key to making the project work as an exterior glass signage package was to design an attachment system that would allow Giroux to secure glass panels to the steel skeleton structure that was built behind the panel system façade. While utilizing state-of-the-art 3D laser scanning survey and drafting capabilities, Giroux was able to assess the use of Light Glass Technology from Pulp Studio, www.pulpstudio.com, for the project.

The project team decided to base its final design around the use of ¼-inch black back-painted glass, laminated to ¾-inch aluminum honeycomb panels that added rigidity and strength. The panels were secured to the framing system with a four-side structural silicone application. This allowed the team to achieve the design and engineering criteria while maintaining the deep angles and fluidity of the glass. The Dolce & Gabbana storefront consists of approximately 4,000 square feet of the black Light Glass. There are 106 panels total, not one fabricated with the same dimensions.

Additional players on the project include VTN Surveying & Drafting, www.vtnnv.com, Smalley & Company, www.smalleyandcompany. com, CSI Scaffolding, www.csiscaffolding. com, Sierra Aluminum, www. sierraaluminum.com, ARJ Metal Fabrication, arjcustomfabrications. com, Ahrens Cos., www.ahrenscompanies. com, Federal Heath Sign Co., www.federalheath.com, and PK Delp Engineering, www.pkdelp.com.