Facade Tectonics Institute Inducts New Special Advisory Council

Glass Magazine
June 21, 2019

The Facade Tectonics Institute created a new Special Advisory Council. The Council comprises 27 individuals selected through a competitive application process and embody the disciplinary and geographic demographics of the Institute’s membership, international mission and inclusionary practices. The Council will function as a supportive body to the FTI board of directors on strategic Institute issues and initiatives that seek to drive growth and engagement.

The Special Advisory Council will represent the Institute in the marketplace and academia, implement ad hoc sub committees, advance the Institute’s mission, and help build the Institute through broad-based outreach and engagement of the AECO industry at local, regional and national levels. The Council members are thought leaders from a cross-section of the diverse sectors that comprise the AECO industry.

This announcement marks the inauguration of both the SAC members and the Council itself. Each Council member will construct a strategic six-month contribution plan with the Institute that seeks to guide FTI leadership and achieve the Council’s 2019 priorities. Through targeted research and analysis of current and future FTI programs, the Council seeks to amplify engagement in FTI’s membership program, regional Forum series, biennial World Congress and Committee initiatives.

The new council members were officially welcomed by Stacey Hooper, chair of the Special Advisory Council and principal at NBBJ, and Mic Patterson, ambassador of innovation and collaboration at the Facade Tectonics Institute during the Council’s kickoff meeting. 2019 Special Advisory Council Members include:

Bob Cangemi, Renaissance Building Products
Nick Carillo, WWCCA
Joe Conover, Clark Construction Group
Alex Cox, Permasteelisa North America
Chris DeHaven, McCarthy Building Companies Inc.
Chris Drew, AS+GG Architects
Stéphan Hoffman, Morrison Hershfield
Ron Hull, Kuraray America
Jon H. Kimberlain, Dow Silicones
Mikkel Kragh, University of Southern Denmark Faculty of Engineering
Sameer Kumar, SHoP Architects
John Neary, HOK New York
Becher Neme, Neme Design Studio
Matt O’Malley, DPR Construction
Sophie Pennetier, Enclos
Lisa Rammig, Eckersley O’Callaghan
April Rawson, National Fenestration Rating Council
Brienna Rust, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Inc.
Matt Staublin, HOK
Sanjeev Tankha, Walter P. Moore
Marty Trainor, Ventana
Hamid Vossoughi, WSP
Ye Wang, Join
Audrey Wu, Gensler
Stephan Wurster, Pohl Group

“This is an extraordinary group of individuals and we are extremely fortunate to have their involvement in the SAC,” says Stacey Hooper, Council chairperson. “On behalf of FTI, we congratulate these individuals on their achievements and their appointment to the SAC. We look forward to working together in accelerating the transformation to resilient and sustainable buildings and urban habitat."